George Aitken flew KH-L – Pat Murphy’s Tribute to George

Dean Black had started a little quiz a few years back on this… I called it the KH game. It was a way to find all the letters of the alphabet with the KH code.

Pat Murphy had stumbled on my blog and had written a comment on an Easter Sunday. With that comment the throttle on this blog opened wide.

2007_1115Image0018

I am used to be startled on this blog and on my others blogs I am writing about WWII.

How I started writing about WWII is quite interesting.

It started with the story of a Canadian destroyer sunk on April 29, 1944. I had never heard of it before even though I thought I was quite knowledgeable about WWII when I started getting interested in WWII in 1958 as a young boy coming from school. The blog Lest We Forget and its French version Souvenirs de guerre led me to meet Georges Stewart virtually and then later in person.

paul-beaudet-and-george-stewart

While staying at a B&B in Hamilton I met a young man whose grandfather was a Spitfire pilot.

me-and-my-spitfire

Walter Neil Dove

This is how this blog about RCAF 403 Squadron started in September 2011. A few years later a new chapter opened up with Pat sharing what he knew about Spitfires and the pilots who flew them.

And Pat knew a lot!

And he sent me lots of stuff since that Easter Sunday.

I did not know who Pat Murphy was before he wrote a comment.

Pierre, I very much enjoy your 403 Squadron information, do you have an email address so that I can provide some information to you. I have searched your website for your contact info/ email and can’t seem to find it. I have a Canadian Spitfire display in a museum here on Vancouver Island complete with some 403 Squadron Spitfires that you might find interesting. Recently I’ve included a Spitfire flown by Doug Lindsay of 403 Squadron to the display. I met Doug at his home in Red Deer Alberta a few ago when I was having him sign some limited edition aviation prints for the Y2-K Spitfire restoration project. Doug provided me with the details for his model Spitfire when I called him a few weeks ago. The display also features a model of George Aitkens Spitfire, George provided me with his details as well.

Pat Murphy Vancouver Island Military Museum Nanaimo B.C.

When you don’t know someone they in fact don’t exist.

Just like George Stewart and his navigator Paul Beaudet who flew 50 operations together.

paul-beaudet-and-george-stewart-1

Just like George Aitken and his Spitfire.

Flying Officer George Aitken 403 Sqn RCAF

Just like this museum in Nanaimo.

DSCN3509

Or this pilot’s Spitfire…

DSCN3503

George Aitken is not a little known Spitfire pilot anymore.

GEORGE aITKEN

He is not only a post on this blog that I wrote in March 2012.

George is much much more than that…

UNCLE GEORGE

Much more…

AIRFORCE MAGAZINE11

And what about that model airplane of KH-L?

2007_1115Image0018

Pat had written this…

Pierre,

I forgot to mention the details behind the reason George Aitken had roundels on his wheel covers. He was visiting an American bomber base at one time and he noticed that some of the bombers had a large star painted on the wheel covers of the bombers, George thought it looked good and when he returned to his own base he mentioned it to his ground crew. The next few days were very rainy and all operations had been cancelled. When opps went back on he noticed that his ground crew had painted the roundel on the wheel covers of his Spitfire, I believe it was the only RCAF Spitfire to wear such markings. When George saw the markings applied to his model he was most pleased.

4 thoughts on “George Aitken flew KH-L – Pat Murphy’s Tribute to George

Leave a Reply

