Walter Neil Dove’s Training Days: Part Two

I had started posting in 2012 what Greg had sent me about his grandfather’s training days in the RCAF.

He had sent me lots of scans from his grandfather’s logbook and photo album.

Collection Walter Neil Dove

I said that more was forthcoming, but I must have been distracted somewhat and I forgot to post everything.

Since September 2011 this has been quite a long journey into the past of a young Canadian who enlisted early in the war. If I recall correctly Walter Neil Dove enlisted in December 1940.

I will have to ask Greg about it. 

This is the inside cover with a good luck charm on the upper left.

Collection Walter Neil Dove

This is page 2… very instructing!

Walter Neil Dove came home unscathed on the Queen Elizabeth in December 1945 and he had something to prove it.

Many young men were not on board like Arthur Horrell…

arthur-james-horrell

Walter Neil Dove had some pictures to record this event…

He had kept his precious logbook and all the pictures he took. His grandson Greg was generous enough to share all with me. I could have kept everything for himself but he did not.

This is how this blog started in September 2011 when I met Greg at his parents’ place.

I had told Greg I was going to take the time to check if everything he sent has been posted.

Wally, that was his nickname, was first stationed at No.1 Manning Depot in Toronto on July 11, 1941.

the gang at manning pool

Germany had invaded Russia two weeks before on June 22, 1941.

Walter Neil Dove stayed there until August 8, 1941. He was then stationed at No. 14 S.F.T.S. Aylmer from August 8 to September 1, 1941.

Aylmer airdrome

After Alymer, Wally was posted with No.5 I.T.S Belleville. Wally wrote the meaning of all the abreviations.

I.T.S stands for Initial Training School. This is where cadets were selected either to be pilots, navigators, or air gunners.

On October 27, 1941, Walter Dove was posted with No. 3 E.F.T.S. London, a flight training school.

Collection Walter Neil Dove

Flight Instructor Chandler was the one teaching Walter Neil Dove how to fly.

J. H. Chandler, Flight Instructor circa 1941

Collection Walter Neil Dove

Maybe one day relatives of J. H. Chandler will find my blog and shared what they know.

Who knows?

15 thoughts on “Walter Neil Dove’s Training Days: Part Two

  1. Some wonderful pictures, especially the Queen Elizabeth with a reasonable proportion of Canada’s population on board. Let’s hope that they hadn’t forgotten the beer!

Leave a Reply

