Who cares?

That’s what John told me a few times when I visited him on Saturday afternoon.

Who cares? I do and a whole lot more people do. More and more people are writing about WWII than ever before.

I call this another revolution just like Gutenberg’s invention.

Gutenberg

People are now sharing on the Internet little known facts about WWII. The daughter of a paratrooper in the Pacific. The nephew of a Japanese soldier killed in 1944, the nephew of a tail gunner on a B-25 in the Pacific. The grandniece of Arthur James Horrell who wanted to know how her granduncle died. The granddaughter of Paul Émile Piché who died in the plane with Arthur Horrell also wanted to know. Leslie Birket Foster’s daughter who shared her father’s memoirs. The list goes on and on.

More and more people care about what went on during WWII. I started writing about WWII in August 2009, and I don’t believe I will ever stop writing…because I care.

127 officers

127 Wing Intelligence Section

Everything John shared has its own history like these pictures.

127 clerical staff

Clerical staff

127 intel field offices 1

Intelligence Section trailer

Excerpt from the ebook.

My duties consisted of typing the activities reports submitted by the Wing pilots reporting on the previous day’s sorties over the enemy lines. We were three clerks in that small trailer connected to a canvass cover joining our office trailer to an aircrew briefing area and the Wing Commander’s office, the one and only Johnny Johnson who was to become the Spitfire pilot with the most kills during World War II.

127 intel field offices 2

Where John B. Lemay worked alongside Johnnie Johnson. 

20 thoughts on “Who cares?

  1. typos – i work as an editor in publishing! no worries boys! those pictures are amazing – camp life, the mundane reality – I CARE!

    thanks for this and all the other posts,

    Best,

    Andrew.

  2. The personal photographs and memories that are posted tell us about the people who were part of World War II. The histories that about tell us what happened, etc., but I contend that the histories and their interpretation of events are too often driven by the social milieu of the time in which they are written. To see photographs and read the words of those who were there, who lived the life, tells us more than we might think. So who cares? Everyone.

  3. John Le May’s comment “Who Cares” I think was quite typical of the men and women that served in WW II. The real heroes never talked much about war and certainly didn’t brag about it. Nobody in our family really understood why when my dad and his war buddies would get together – one minute they would be rolling on the floor laughing and then 10 seconds later they would be crying like little kids. It’s not that we didn’t care – it’s more like we didn’t understand. This blog helps me understand.
    I’m currently typing up the story about Winston Churchill’s visit to 403 Squadron but I came across a better story about a 43 year old Spitfire pilot in 127 Wing. I’m hoping John Le May has some memories about F/L Weir.
    Because I care.

    • I know you care Mark, and I talked about you and John talked about you also.
      He did not meet many people outside his intelligence sectioné
      He was scared as hell on January 1st, 1945.
      I can tell you he enjoyed your articles.

      • I understand John’s work didn’t allow a lot of interaction outside his section. F/L Weir, being a 43 year old Spitfire pilot was an interesting story in itself. He was killed at the airbase in Crepon Normandy. I’m hoping that will stand out in John’s memory.
        Cheers
        Mark

      • I hope it does.
        He was at Crepon allright.
        He was at every Advanced Landing Grounds.
        His ebook tells all in a great style.

      • Because you care…

        The veteran I have been meeting since 2010 has flown 37 missions.
        He wants to do a final mission.
        I will tell you more.
        Just let’s say you are on the list…

Leave a Reply

