Just another group picture?

Think again.

I love this group picture taken late March 1945 at Petit Brogel in Belgium.

403 Petit Brogel March 1945

Loved it so much I added labels.

403PetitBrogleMarch1945_0002 identification

I wanted to use it as a reference tool.

That was before I met virtually Josette Nadon on the Internet. Her father was a Spitfire pilot who was only remembered by a picture and a one liner.

Georges Nadon 122 Squadron

Girlfriends and beer…

Georges Nadon has now his own blog to be remembered…

4 thoughts on “Just another group picture?

  1. I knew as soon as I saw that picture that my Grandfather, Tom Todd, was present! so excited to see this! He was shot down and captured in March 45′ so this may be the last time he was photographed before his captivity.

    great series of posts!

  2. Thanks Pierre. this really made my day!
    The expressions of youthful exuberance on all of their faces when looking at the rider and the bike; like young boys with a new toy! You can almost imagine them asking ‘when do i get my turn to ride?’. Their smiles and joy all obscure the fact they were AT WAR! I hope that they had many more of those moments, whether captured on film or not!

Leave a Reply

