Life is funny sometimes

I knew nothing about RCAF 403 Squadron in September 2011, and I knew nothing about Spitfire pilot Walter Neil Dove.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Back in 2013, I knew nothing about Pat Murphy and his Spitfire collection of model kits in display at the Vancouver Island Military Museum, located in Nanaimo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pat Murphy is a generous person and he wrote some posts on this blog that pays homage to Spitfire pilots.

Pat Murphy virtually introduced me to Trevor Guthrie when he sent me this e-mail…

Pierre, you’ll find this interesting, I’ve attached a picture of a Canadian singer/song writer Trevor Guthrie. He has been an entertainer for years and was part of a Canadian rock band a few years ago, I understand he now works as a solo act. He is very interested in World War II RCAF History and would visit the Y2-K Spitfire restoration project from time to time. He became good friends with Art Sager and Stocky Edwards in fact even wrote a song about Art and sang it at Arts funeral. I was exchanging emails with Trevor on the weekend and he informed me he will be presenting an award on the Juno’s next Sunday, live from Winnipeg and he will be wearing a T-Shirt that honours Stocky Edwards. I’ve sent you a picture of the T-Shirt he will wear. Trevor is a real nice guy and he loves Spitfire pilots.

Pat

TREVOR GUTHRIE t-shirt

I had never heard of Trevor Guthrie before.

Life is funny sometimes isn’t?

Pat had this other e-mail…

This is a picture of Trevor Guthrie and Art Sager taken at the Y2-K Spitfire restoration project in 2007. Trevor attended a few of the RCAF Fighter pilot reunions in Canada and one in Belgium, he was well thought of and as far as I know he stays in touch with several of the surviving pilots.
Art Sager and Trevor Guthrie
7 thoughts on “Life is funny sometimes

  1. A post like this warms my heart. To know at least a few of the younger generation still give a hoot about their history and the heroes who helped to shape it. Trevor certainly appears to have quite a head on his shoulders and if you speak with him, tell him thanks for remembering!

  2. Pierre, nice that you tell the story about Trevor and his T-Shirt, I saw the Juno’s last night and you would have to have the eyes of a fighter pilot to be able to see the T-Shirt as it was under Trevor’s jacket but he did wear it. And one slight correction about the location of the Vancouver Island Military Museum, we are located in Nanaimo and not Victoria, Nanaimo is a city of about 85,000 people about an hours drive north of Victoria on Vancouver Island.

    I did call Stocky last night to remind him to watch the Juno Awards, hope he did it was kind of late.

    Cheers

  3. Looking for her long lost relative. My mother’s cousin

    Pat Murphy told her and her siblings stories of his Dare devil stunts and suicide missions documented in his letters to his aunt my grandmother he grew up with and lived as part of his family. My mother dying wish was to find him”

    I’m a family researcher,
    (For many years 50+)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

