Bruce’s contribution

Bonjour Pierre, hello John,
Back home now. Checked logbook.  Dad has no entry for 9 May 1942. He flew a Spit he marked as ” 177″  from HMS Eagle to Malta on 18 May.  I  attach (in my techo-challenged way) a copy of my working copy of the relevant page for your records.  If you would like a scanned shot of the original page let me know; I just need to warm up my antique Canon scanner.

Cheers
Bruce

logbook page

Click on the image to zoom in.

I did not know Buck McNair flew off an aircraft carrier. I have to know more. And yes Bruce I would like a scanned image from your antique Canon if possible.

Meantime I will be reading Pat Murphy’s account of Spitfires taking off HMS Eagle.

Click here to read it.

Malta Spitfire on Wasp

Spitfires on USS Wasp

5 thoughts on “Bruce’s contribution

  1. Thank you very much. The a/c must have been BR177, which is one of the Spitfires that I haven’t been able to put a date on for the arrival in Malta. Perfect.

    The reason I asked for the 9th of May as well is that some sources says McNair flew to Malta on that day and not the 18th.

    I have sent you an email as well.

    John

  2. Pingback: Spitfires in Malta – Update | Pilote de Spitfire - Spitfire Pilot

Leave a Reply

