I know why I was all excited yesterday

I know why I was all excited yesterday when Bruce McNair sent me this picture of his father with some new pilots.

I will tell you why I posted an article on the wrong blog. 

It was about the caption.

Dad Rod number 6 course

Front Row…

Look at then name at the end of the row.

Charlesworth!

I have been searching for that pilot whose picture was missing from Art Sager’s WWII memorabilia that I posted on my blog about RCAF 443 Squadron.

443 pilots Charlesworth

I recently posted this story on RCAF No. 443 about Paul Piché, a pilot who was killed on October 11, 1944. When I saw Charlesworth’s name in Bruce’s picture of his father, I jumped the gun and posted the No. 6 Course picture on that blog instead of this one.

Honest mistake…

Dad Rod number 6 course

Where did Buck McNair got his wings?

I knew where to look.

Robert Wendell McNair was born on May 15, 1919 in Springfield, Nova Scotia. He spent his boyhood in the Annapolis Valley and in North Battleford, Saskatchewan. His family had relocated there during the depression looking for work. He completed high school in North Battleford in 1937 with good marks. He went to work for the Saskatchewan Ministry of Natural Resources as a ground wireless (radio) operator.

Then the war started in September, 1939. He continued work for a while until it became clear that this was not to be a quick war. He enrolled in the RCAF in June 1940 and went through the usual training regimen, attending schools in Toronto (No.1 ITS), Windsor (No.7 EFTS) and Kingston (No.31 SFTS). He graduated as a pilot on March 24, 1941.

Source

That group picture could have been taken at No. 31 S.F.T.S. Kingston, Ontario.

Dad Rod number 6 course

And this has to be Chuck Charlesworth at the end of the first row.

443 pilots Charlesworth identification

443 pilots Charlesworth's picture

Chuck Charlesworth

I know Chuck Charlesworth survived the war because his name is not listed on the Canadian Virtual War Memorial and Art Sager would have written a note on this page.

443 pilots Charlesworth picture

I wonder how many pilots from No. 6 Course survived the war.

I know Rod Smith and Buck McNair did.

Dad Rod number 6 course close up

Rod Smith and Buck McNair

For more on Rob Smith, you can read what I posted on him and his brother Jerry.

If you have any comment or want to contact me, just fill out the form, or write a comment in the comment section.

13 thoughts on “I know why I was all excited yesterday

    • The more people share, the more I search, and the more we learn like John Engelsted’s comments about that picture.
      I was incorrect in assuming it was taken in Kingston, Ontario. I should have not jumped the gun.

Leave a Reply

