More Spitfires!

Pat is writing a story for us on this blog.

He is going over it right now so it will be just right.

Pierre, I’ve cranked out about 1600 words tonight to tell the wonderful story of the Smith brothers. I have picture and details about a recent book that has been written about the mystery of the Malta Spitfires and I think you and your readers will enjoy what I have put together. It will take me till Tuesday night to get it ship shape then I will send it to you, Hope that is ok with you. I know it’s not a 403 Squadron story but you might want to share it with you readers.

I’ve sent you a picture of the Smith brothers, save it, That’s Rod on the right, Jerry on the left

While we are waiting for his story about the Smith brothers, here is another  picture of George Aitken’s Spitfire on display at the museum.

KH-L

KH-L George Aitken with his wheel roundels.

Pat also sent me these with a message.

Pierre, some more Spitfire models including George Aitkens

AU-M is Buck McNair 421 Squadron

AN-A is Bert Houle 417 Squadron

JEFF  is Jeff Northcott as Wing Commander of 126 Wing

2I-D Art Sager 443 Squadron

HC-G Hugh Godefroy 127 Wing Commander

KH-L George Aitken with his wheel roundels.

I have other pictures but want to write something special tonight about the Smith Brothers. It is a compelling story of two brothers that met in Malta and flew together, one survived the War and one did not. They were united once again by a Spitfire and I need some time to obtain the details for you. I have built models of both brothers Spitfires and they are side by side in my display. Jerry Smith was killed in Malta and his brother Rod Smith went on to fly Spitfires in Normandy after surviving Malta and lived in Vancouver, the story of how they were united in remarkable but I need time to get it right.

I love what you sent me today, you do good work.

Pat Murphy

DSCN3532

2I-D Art Sager 443 Squadron

DSCN3526

JEFF  is Jeff Northcott as Wing Commander of 126 Wing

DSCN3520

AN-A is Bert Houle 417 Squadron

DSCN3519

AU-M is Buck McNair 421 Squadron

DSCN3514

HC-G Hugh Godefroy 127 Wing Commander

 

5 thoughts on “More Spitfires!

Leave a Reply

