Comment on Flight Lieutenant Edward Grant Aitchison

Hi,
I am named after Grant Aitchison and I sent those pictures of Grant to a government site.

When my Dad George Wissler passed away I found Grant’s picture in his wallet. I think he carried it until the day he died. He wrote that on the back of the picture.

Dad was with 424 Squadron and they flew 34 trips and all got back alive.

I found out Grant was buried in Holland just after I had been on an Oldtimers hockey trip to Holland and our bus had driven right past the cemetery where he was.

I didn’t know how he died. Awful and so near the end of the war too. There was a lady in Elora named Mary Scott, a close family friend, who used to call me « Little » Grant every time she saw me when I was growing up. She never married and I think she pined for Grant Aitchison all her life even though he was married I see.

Regards,

Grant John Wissler

It was about this post…

Putting all of Walter Neil Dove’s pictures and his logbook online is a way to reach out and to share information with relatives of airmen who were part of RCAF No. 403 Squadron.

Flight Lieutenant Tommy Todd was the first airman known by someone who wrote a comment.

His best friend Tony Cannell wrote us last month, and last week, Tommy Todd’s grandson wrote a comment when he saw pictures of his grandfather.

F/L Aitchison is another pilot’s name found in Greg’s grandfather’s logbook.

He was forced landed near Deist on December 31, 1944.

Click the image for a larger view.

Flight Lieutenant  Edward Grant Aitchison’s name would appear later in the logbook.

That time F/L Dove will write how Flight Lieutenant  Aitchison died.

In memory of
Flight Lieutenant
EDWARD GRANT AITCHISON
who died on March 31, 1945

Military Service:

Service Number: J/8387
Age: 26
Force: Air Force
Unit: Royal Canadian Air Force
Division: 403 Sqdn.

Additional Information:

Son of John A. and Louise Aitchison. Husband of Bronwen M. Aitchison, of Elora, Ontario.

These pictures were on the site.

This is what was in Walter Neil Dove’s logbook.

March 31, 1945

F/L Aitchison Bailed Out over Rhur…

Was beaten to death by SS…


Leave a Reply

