Flight Lieutenant Cecil Brown

Not much information or pictures about Flight Lieutenant Cecil Brown on the Internet.

This is what I found…

F/L Cecil Brown 403 Squadron, 127 Wing :

“July 16 was a most interesting flight. Just one squadron of us went out to do a patrol to see if we could run into anything, shoot up anything on the ground or in the air. One fellow had engine trouble and had to go back. That left 11 of us. Andy MacKenzie was leading one group of six Spitfires and I was leading the other six as Deputy Flight Commander.

“We had found shortly after we got to France that the best way to operate was to get enough pilots for two teams – 24 pilots – 2 Flight Commanders and Squadron Leaders and Squadron Commander. Each flight had a deputy commander so we made two teams up, and we took everything that went on from 1 o’clock today to 1 o’clock the next day and then we’d have a day off. We began rotating like that.

This particular night, I was a deputy flight commander. I think Andy was a flight commander and he happened to have the other six since we were flying in two sixes. But one turned out to be five planes.

“And I looked over and below us and I saw some Typhoons heading back to our lines hell bent for leather. I wondered what was chasing them. I looked behind and I saw a whole mass of German 109s coming. I thought this was a good chance for us to go down and have a go at them. So I called Andy: ‘Come on over, we’ve got some joy (Germans) over here.’

“And Andy said: ‘No thanks. I’ve got all I can handle here.’ And he ran into the same thing.
“We found when we got back that it was quite a well known German formation led by the Jerry ace Walter Nowotny and he flew a Focke-Wulf 190 and led two groups of 55 Messerschmitts. And this was what we had tangled with. We really hadn’t planned on that many. Once into it, there was nothing much you could do but fight.

“So when we got back, the Intelligence people reported they’d been listening on the radio and monitoring the German transmissions and told us who we’d been fighting. I knew too who we’d been fighting when I saw the 190 and the mass of 109s.

“Eleven of us got in a hell of a scrap with those Messerschmitts. We were west of Argentan for this one.

“F/O H.V. (Harry) Boyle, of Toronto, got 3 planes; Andy MacKenzie got 2; and Jim Collier was credited with 1. We lost one, Drury O’Kelly who was shot down early in the fight. He was flying No 2 to me and his job was to protect the guy in front.
“I looked around when I saw all the bullets (tracers) coming by me and my guy was gone. He never said a word, so I don’t know what happened to him. We never saw him again. So we got 6 and lost 1. This was the biggest scrap I was ever in.

“S/L Jim Collier did two tours, one in the North African Desert and the other with us. He was an accomplished artist and when he got home, he set up a business called ADS-Art & Design Studio. His group did all the design and art work for ad agencies, and at one time, he had about 60 artists working for him. He served in Squadrons 250 and 403.”

from “We Were There – RCAF & Others” by Jean E. Portugal

Peter Lecoq had this picture where we see F/L Cecil Brown.

What about Mac Gordon?

Click here.

What about Harry Boyle?

Click here.

About the pilot shot down…

In memory of
Flying Officer
MIALL BOURCHIER  O’KELLY
who died on July 16, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number: J/18246
Force: Air Force
Unit: Royal Canadian Air Force
Division: 403 Sqdn.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
ECOUCHE COMMUNAL CEMETERY
Orne, France

About Walter Nowotny…

Reading about Walter Nowotny’s career in the Luftwaffe, I don’t think he was in that fight…

He was Geschwaderkommodore from April 1944 to September 1944.

Source: Wikipedia

Geschwaderkommodore

This is what is said about Jagdgeschwader 101 (JG 101)

Jagdgeschwader 101 (JG 101) was a Luftwaffe fighter-training-wing of World War II.

Formed at Werneuchen from Jagdfliegerschule 1, JG 101 was created in December 1942 and were stationed from 27 January 1943 at Pau, southern France. An operational training unit, the Geschwader was never officially deployed in combat, although on 5 March 1944 Jagdgruppe West and JG 101 defended Bergerac, Cognac, and other airfields in south west France against a raid by 8th Air Force B-24s.

On 24 May 1944 Hptm. Scholtz of 1./JG 101 claimed a B-17 shot down.

The unit operated several training types, including the Gotha 143 and Bucker 131 biplanes and the French-built fighter Dewoitine D.520. JG 101 also operated the first two seater Bf 109.The G-12 was a modified G-2, with a second seat behind the existing cockpit for the instructor. The two seat Fw 190F-8/U-1 trainer was also employed.

The Geschwader was disbanded on 16 April 1945 and 2,400 personnel were transferred to the 10. Fallschirm-Jäger-Division and 11. Fallschirm-Jäger-Division.

7 thoughts on “Flight Lieutenant Cecil Brown

  1. Excellent site. Keep up the great work. I am the son of G/C Buck McNair and it does my heart good to see such an interesting and active site.

    • Hi, I will check Dad’s logbooks but I know he flew with Magwood and a few others in that particular operation. I will check and get bsck to you. I don’t know of any other McNairs in that theatre. Cheers Bruce

      • There is a lot of information about your father on different websites, but I want to give you the opportunity to contribute to this blog.
        This is why I started this blog in the first place.

      • Hi Pierre,
        Just checked with Dad’s logs. He was flying 15 May 1943.
        His log entry:
        “May 15. Spitfire. B. Ramrod. Poix. 1.30 hours. Nice Drive!!”

        Cheers
        Bruce

Leave a Reply

