Pictures From Peter Lecoq’s son

I just received new pictures from Peter Lecoq.

He was the one who wrote this about his father on a Website paying homage to WWII pilots.

“During the war, my father flew under an alias, Pete Logan.

Why?

During WW2, my father’s mother and siblings lived in Bonneville, France, and my father’s superiors felt that his family could face retaliation should the Germans ever learn of my father’s French roots.

My father did have some claims; however, his records are incomplete. When he went from being Pierre Lecoq (R77174) to Peter Logan, the official records for Pierre Lecoq were totally erased or lost …

What I do know, is that after my father’s tour of duty ended in July of 1944, in lieu of returning to England for a rest, he donned civilian clothing and headed east to join his immediate family in Bonneville, FRANCE. Being perfectly bilingual, my father had no problem communicating in French. In order to reach his family, he had to travel through enemy occupied territory; hence, along the way he assisted the French Resistance movement in defying the Germans, and also assisted downed Allied pilots in their quest to escape enemy territory. I don’t know exactly when my father returned to Canada, but he was in the reserves (City of Montreal 438 Squadron) after the war while attending McGill University (Medicine Class of 1952).”

This picture was on the Website.

Peter just sent these along with this message for Dean and I…

Gentlemen:

Attached are some photos I have on my hard drive. I’m not certain how I obtained them, I believe my father’s younger sister may have sent them to me some years ago.
The “RCAF 403 Squadron” photo is as follows:
First Row, left-to-right, Doug Lindsay, Chuck Thornton, Pierre Lecoq w/ the dog;
Back Row, left-to-right, Dave Goldberg, Jerry Preston, Mac McGarrgle and Bill Myers.
Enjoy!
Peter Lecoq

Enjoy we will.

Peter also sent these newspaper clippings… (to be translated later)

Lieutenant Lecoq with 438 Squadron

 Quite a feat!

A Knight of the Air
With Savoyard Origins and a RCAF hero

Click to zoom in on the article

Leave a Reply

