Captain Foster and Eugène Gagnon

Sorry, I had to come back to this blog from Torbay…

I never expected this…

Now I know all about Captain Foster and Eugène Gagnon…

Remember when I wrote in an article…

Captain Foster was an instructor at  No. 6 SFTS, Dunnville, until October 1942.

Eugene Gagnon got his wings at No. 6 SFTS, Dunnville, in April 1942.

No. 6 SFTS, Dunnville, Ontario, April 1942

Foster and Gagnon must have met somehow since Captain Foster instructed at No.6 SFTS, Dunnville, until October 1942. Maybe he was Eugene’s instructor.

It’s funny when you meet people.

You never know what will evolve from that meeting.

Well…

I got this comment:

What an amazing blog and what a wonderful tribute to those who served in 403 squadron.

I am Cap’s youngest son and can’t thank you and Greg enough for putting this together.

I can answer your question as to whether or not Cap was Eugene Gagnon’s flight instructor unfortunately he was not, I just searched through my fathers log books from his time at 6 SFTS in Dunnville and Eugene’s name was not there. Too bad because that would have been so very cool.

I look forward to learning more about the history of the Wolf Squadron and once again thank you so much for your efforts.

There is creative reading as well as creative writing.

— Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

