F/L Livingstone Foster (J10957)

I wanted to pay homage to this pilot on my Saturday post, but Greg was off for the weekend so I told him I was not going to post anything until Monday so he would not miss anything. Greg met me in September and agreed to post on this blog his grandfather’s photo-album and his logbook.

I told him it was a good thing to share his grandfather’s experience with No. 403 Squadron.  

So with all further ado…

This is the article I wanted to post on Saturday…

This little quiz will help you remember what’s this blog’s all about after Rememberance Day 2011.

Remembering is not a one-day thing.

Not for me anyway…

I was a school teacher for 34 years.

I used to have quizzes in my class to keep my students curious and on their toes.

So this is a little quiz for my readers…

Guess who are in this picture taken in March 1945?

One pilot is easy to identify unless you have not read this blog at all and you stumble on it by pure coincidence and you are wondering what I am  up to.

The pilot in the back I wrote about on this same blog.

He should also be easy to identify.

Click here to read about him…

The other pilot I was able to identify using Johnnie Johnson’s pictures Greg scanned last week.

Johnnie Johnson is of course in the middle of the picture.

The other pilot on the left is Captain Foster.

I didn’t have the faintess idea who he was before I started writing this article.

I did a little Web search and then I found this information on the Internet…

I believe I found him.

FOSTER, F/L Livingstone (J10957)

– Distinguished Flying Cross

– No.403 Squadron

– Award effective 10 July 1945 as per London Gazette dated 24 July 1945 and AFRO 1619/45 dated 19 October 1945.

Born in Grimsby, Ontario, September 1919.

Home there; educated there.

Enlisted in Hamilton, 13 May 1940.

To No.1 ITS, 27 May 1940; graduated and promoted LAC, 22 June 1940 when posted to No.3 EFTS; graduated 31 August 1940 when posted to No.2 SFTS; graduated and promoted Sergeant, 1 December 1940.

Promoted WO2, 1 December 1941.

Commissioned 30 March 1942.

Instructed at No.6 SFTS, Dunnville, until October 1942.

Promoted Flying Officer, 1 October 1942.

To “Y” Depot, 23 October 1942; arrived overseas 5 November 1942.

Promoted Flight Lieutenant, 31 March 1944.

Further trained at No.58 OTU (January-March 1943).

Flew with Nos.416 and 403 Squadrons on his first tour (March 1943 to March 1944); at No.53 OTU until September 1944.

On second tour flew with Nos.403 and 421 Squadrons.

To UK 26 May 1945, to Canada 5 August 1945; released 17 September 1945.

DFC presented in Hamilton, Ontario, 27 July 1949.

Rejoined RCAF as Administrative Officer, 19 March 1951 (36961).

Promoted Flight Lieutenant, 1 July 1953.

Queen’s Coronation Medal, 23 October 1953 while at Station Penhold.

Reclassified as Personnel Administration Officer, 8 May 1956.

Credited with the following aerial victories:

17 August 1943, one Bf.110 destroyed (No.403 Squadron; shared with three others);

28 January 1944, one FW.190 damaged (No.403 Squadron);

29 September 1944, one Bf.109 destroyed (No.421 Squadron);

8 December 1944, one Bf.109 destroyed (No.403 Squadron);

28 April 1945, one Do.24 destroyed (No.403 Squadron).

Died in Smith Falls, Ontario, 9 March 2003.

An extensive obituary in the Ottawa Citizen, 11 March 2003, detailed an athletic career that began as rehabilitation following childhood rheumatoid arthritis.

This officer has completed numerous sorties against many heavily defended targets in Germany and enemy occupied territory.  Flight Lieutenant Foster has proved himself to be an outstanding fighter pilot, showing keenness, courage and devotion to duty which, coupled with his ability and fine leadership, have made him an outstanding example to the wing.  He has destroyed three enemy aircraft and has damaged or destroyed many transport vehicles.

Everything I wanted to know was there…

Flight Lieutenant Foster can also be seen in this picture…

It’s from acesofww2.com.

Now do you recognise Flight Lieutenant Foster in these pictures… also taken in March 1945?

Smile… because this is what’s this blog’s all about.

Playing homage to the comrades in arms of Flight Lieutenant Walter Neil Dove.

Now if someone can fill me in on Gil Gillis from Pense, Saskatchewan… it would make my day just like this blog did for Tony Cannell on Saturday when he wrote a comment.

Tomorrow, why you should read my readers’ comments…

Leave a Reply

