Spitfire Mk Vb

Pierre Lagacé:

Brave men

Originally posted on Pilote de Spitfire - Spitfire Pilot:

This comment came in on my blog RCAF 403 Squadron yesterday. I had reblogged the last post Spitfire Redux just to get some feedback from my readers.

Dad in Spitfire-2

I got this one from Pat Murphy.

Having referred to my copy of ‘FIGHTER SQUADRONS OF THE RAF” I find that 122 Squadron operated Mk Vb Spitfires from November, 1941 through to October 1942. During that period the Squadron was based at 7 different locations in the following order. Scorton, Hornchurch, Fairlop, Martlesham, Hornchurch again the back to Martlesham and then back to Hornchurch. I would assume the photo was taken at one of those UK bases, but you never know. The Squadron started receiving Mk IX Spitfires in September 1942..

The Squadron history goes on to say in April 1943 up until August 1943 they were re-issued with LF Mk Vb Spitfires.then Mustang III’s.

Hope this helps solve the mystery.

I also…

View original 164 more words

Leave a Reply

