Hello Archie,

This is Mark’s answer to Archie who wrote this comment on the blog…

ARCHIE SAYS, YOUR UNCLE TOM WHITE & I GREW UP NEXT DOOR, AND “GEORGE” ALWAYS READ THE FUNNIES TO US FROM THE WPG TRIBUNE ON SATURDAY.

I MOVED TO VICTORIA IN 66, & IN THE 80S THE PHONE RANG, PERSON SAYS, HAS ANYONE READ YOU THE FUNNIES LATELY! I ANSWERED GEORGE WHITE YOU WERE THE LAST GUY TO DO SO.

YOUR ARTICLES ON YOUR DAD’S EXPERIENCE ARE GREAT AND HEARTWARMING.

R.ARCHIE MCKAY

Mark wanted me to post his reply to Archie.

Hello Archie,

Thanks for the comments on the stories and pictures of my dad’s experience with RCAF 403 Wolf Squadron during the war.

That’s a good story about the “Funnies”.

Pierre has put together a great site here to share this kind of information.

I remember the McKays’ and McKay Island from my visits to Kenora with my parents Rene and George. I also have some great memories of a glorious day out fishing for pickerel with my dad and Louis McKay.

Here are some pictures I’d like to share with you:

Mark White March 2014-1

Lawrence (Larry) was one of my dad’s brothers. George (“Whitey”) and Tom are center. I would guess Tom is about 10 years old in this picture. The big fellow is Olie Johnson – I understand he was another neighbor that lived near the McKay’s and the White’s near Park Street in Kenora.

Mark White March 2014-2

 

I have no idea who the people in this picture are – other than my dad George White standing next to the young lady. Archie, do you know any of the people?

 

 

 Mark White March 2014-3

 

And finally, a picture of a teenage George White – everybody in Kenora played hockey.

He was probably about this age when he read you and Tom the funnies from the Winnipeg Tribune.

 

Cheers and Best Regards

 

Mark White

 

February 2014

 

 

5 thoughts on “Hello Archie,

Leave a Reply

